DUI Criminal Defense Lawyer
New Jersey DUI Criminal Defense Attorney
When you are stopped for a DUI or DWI (driving while intoxicated) in New Jersey, you can face serious penalties regardless of whether or not you face criminal charges. Under New Jersey criminal law, a drunk driving charge is commonly considered to be a quasi-criminal offense. This means that a DWI is a traffic violation in New Jersey, but depending upon the specific circumstances of the DUI or DWI, you could ultimately face criminal charges that could result in a substantial penalty. In some cases, you may end up being sentenced to jail time in addition to the suspension of your driver’s license and a significant monetary fine.
The moment you are charged with a DUI/DWI in New Jersey, you need to have an aggressive New Jersey DUI defense attorney on your side to help you beat the charges.
Recent Changes to DUI Laws in New Jersey
As of December 2019, drunk driving laws in New Jersey work a bit differently. The new law makes the following changes that anyone charged with a DUI/DWI should be aware of:
- Most first-time offenders will not face a license suspension if they have a BAC of less than 0.15 percent;
- First-time offenders with a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher will face a driver’s license suspension for a period of 4 to 6 months, and they will be required to install an ignition interlock device for anywhere from 9 to 15 months;
- All motorists convicted of a DWI, whether or not they are a first-time offender, will be required to install ignition interlocks (which are breathalyzer systems for your car that immobilize your vehicle if you have been drinking, and the ignition interlock devices immobilize the car if the driver has a BAC of 0.05 percent or higher); and
- Drivers convicted of a second DWI offense will face a driver’s license suspension of up to 2 years and will be required to install an ignition interlock device for anywhere from 2 to 4 years.
The changes to the law are designed to reduce DWI accidents and deaths in the state, but motorists should also know that the recent changes mean that New Jersey is focused on DWI offenders and holding them accountable for drunk driving. Accordingly, if you are charged with any DUI or DWI offense in the state, it is critical to have an experienced New Jersey drunk driving defense attorney on your side.
Seek Advice from a DUI Criminal Defense Lawyer in New Jersey
If you are facing criminal DWI charges, or even if you are a first-time offender with a BAC of under 0.15, it is critical to seek advice from an experienced DUI criminal defense attorney in New Jersey. As you can see from the information above, even if you are a first-time offender and you are facing a relatively minor penalty, you should keep in mind that you will still have a DWI record and will need to drive with an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for quite some time if you are convicted. We will assess the facts of your case and develop a defense strategy to help you beat these charges. Contact the Law Office of Matthew V. Portella, LLC for more information about how we can assist you as you fight your DUI charges.