CALL FOR CONSULTATION 856-310-9800
The Law Office of Matthew V. Portella, LLC’s full staff is fully operational during this health crisis. Many courts are still moving forward with hearings via virtual courtrooms and in person hearings. We’re here for you 24/7. We offer video chat services through Zoom for all devices for your convenience especially during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Client Testimonials

Client Testimonials

June, 2021

“A lot of attorneys say all the right stuff but Matthew Portella actually made good on his words.He got my detainer lifted, my probation terminated even with my open case. He worked tirelessly to have me released from prison and if I ever needed an attorney again he’d be who I call.”

S. Jones

November 15, 2020

“Great communication and amazing office/team”

Enchanting Crystals

September 15, 2020

“My law office has had the opportunity to work with the Portella Law Office. Mr. Portella’s demeanor, professionalism, and expeditious manner in resolving cases are commendable and for that reason I highly recommend him.”

Kathy B.

September 8, 2020

“Very professional and personable guy. Thank you for your great service.”

Steven K.

Client Testimonials

April 10, 2020

“As a former criminal defense attorney, I came to know Matt Portella and can tell you he is not only a solid attorney but also a solid person. You are in good hands with Matt in your corner.”

Linda T.

April, 2020

“Seriously one of the most upfront, upbeat, honest guys around! He works hard for you and the positive results show! And he literally ROCKS!🤘🏽 Really!
It was a pleasure to have comfort working with someone who you can really appreciate and trust! Definitely worth using and recommending!! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟”

Marcilena L.

April 8, 2020

“Matt is one of the best, not only attorneys, but people you will ever meet. He always has his clients’ best interests in mind and is very knowledgeable in his craft. I can’t thank Matt enough for all that he has done for me, my family, and my friends. He is very easy to talk to and very easily assessable. Don’t hesitate to call Matt for all your legal needs”.

Chuck M.

Client Testimonials

February 16, 2020

“Matt and his team were extremely helpful with my father’s recent DWI case. Not only was he able to get a favorable outcome, but he was also very understanding of the challenges we were experiencing as a family. Many thanks to the Law Office of Matthew Portella!❤️”

Rhonda R.

November 12, 2020

“I recommend Matt to anyone that needs a GREAT LAWYER. I personally know firsthand by witnessing the great job Matt does. This man doesn’t have a bad bone in his body and is a truly caring human being. I know he is a good family man and has made his parents extremely proud to see their son practice for the greater good”.

Elaine M.

November 2020

“I was incredibly pleased with Matt and his staff from the moment we met. They were all kind and professional and attentive. Throughout the process, I was kept informed of the status of my case. Matt fought for, and got, the best result possible for me. I would highly recommend using his services if ever in need.”

Steven H.

Client Testimonials

October 2020

“Matt is very professional, responsible, experienced, informative, and friendly. He always tried to get the best outcome and explained all possible results in detail. He was pretty straightforward and made it easy for me to understand. He was very clear and confident in the actions he needed to take. And he was very patient to answer all my questions. He comforted me and my family a lot during the process. The outcome was absolutely the best we could hope for. I very much appreciate his professional assistance. I highly recommend Matt to anyone who needs a lawyer. His hard work and dedication would get you the best outcome!”

Yi C.

October 2020

“Matt and his staff are extremely professional, punctual, and very informative. This allowed me to feel very comfortable throughout the whole situation. Thanks again!”

Josh S.

September 2020

“Great person and a great professional. Highly advise using Mr. Portella for any legal needs that you may have. I had a speeding ticket and he helped me bring it down so I can stay on the road.”

Mitchell

Client Testimonials

July 2020

“I highly recommend Matt to anyone who needs his services. He works hard to get you the best outcome possible. He also is a gentleman who will put you at ease through the process.”

Mark G.

March 2020

“Matt is absolutely amazing!! You couldn’t ask for a better lawyer and person in general. He goes above and beyond for his clients and no doubt got me the best outcome possible and I am so thankful for him. During a very difficult time, he was always able to put a smile on my face and reassured me everything will be okay. Highly recommend Matt and his team!!”

Rachael K.

February 2020

“Matt Portella came recommended to me by a mutual friend in the judicial system. My case seemed hopeless, but thanks to Matt, it was resolved with a better outcome than I ever thought possible. He practically worked a miracle. The judge made it a point to tell me “you better thank your attorney” for such a favorable ruling. When I was leaving court, two other people that were there stopped me on the way out to ask me for Matt’s contact information because they’d heard what the judge had said to me. Matt is incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and dedicated – he is the lawyer that other lawyers recommend! I am unbelievably lucky and eternally grateful. Without a doubt, I will call Matt to represent myself and my family for any future matters. A thousand “thank you’s would not be enough.”

Gabrielle N.

Client Testimonials

August 2020

“I’ve interacted w. Matt as both an attorney colleague and a friend. He is savvy, fights for his clients, and is the kind of lawyer you want on your side. Very professional. He has my full recommendation.”

Jim N.

January 2020

“I thoroughly endorse Matt and his team. I was extremely fortunate to have Matt suggested to me, he was absolutely the right attorney, and person I might add. His thorough knowledge of the process/workings of the legal system was just what my case required. His staff kept me appraised of everything and put my concerns to rest. He told me what to expect and what my options could be, and in the end, it worked out as he projected. He sees all angles and possibilities, nothing is standard to him, there are always possibilities. MVP’s confidence, professionalism, and positive outlook throughout it all helped me keep my sanity. I am very thankful for the result he got me. I would recommend him in a heartbeat!”

James E.

January 2020

“We ran into some legal issues and the first person I called was Matt. He represented a family member in the past and I trust that he has his client’s best interest at heart. He is very knowledgeable of the law and past cases which is a HUGE benefit to your counsel and defense. I think my anxiety would have been through the roof if not for Matt. If you EVER need an attorney – call Matt Portella. You won’t be sorry! He’s THAT good. Thanks Matt!”

Michelle C.

Client Testimonials

June 2020

“We have always been happy with the service from the Law Office of Matthew V. Portella, LLC
I would recommend to everyone.”

ROB F.

March 2020

“Our experience with Mr. Portella was a very positive one. He thoroughly reviewed our matter with us in person and was very easy to communicate with. He represented our interests which resulted in a satisfying outcome. Matt Portella comes with our highest recommendation.”

Jeff B.

January 2020

“I couldn’t have gotten a better outcome! I highly recommend him. His team and himself are amazing people and help you any way they can! I couldn’t have got a better Attorney. Thank you.”

Tony C.

Client Testimonials

January 2020

“So Matt took on a case for me fighting a conviction that hurt my career severely. After a long fight, he convinces the judge to review my case and the judge ended up overturning the conviction. The state was not happy but Matt found a flaw in the state’s case that no one saw. This guy was worth the money and worth the wait…. and I have a new lease on life. Thanks MVP!!”

Sean M.

November 10, 2019

“Matt is easy to work with and very knowledgeable. Matt is very respected and works well with various court systems and Law Enforcement agencies to get a fair and reasonable outcome.”

Tony R.

October 26, 2019

“Very friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. Would recommend Matt because he will tell you the truth and what to expect if you are going to court.”

John M.

Client Testimonials

August, 2019

As a former criminal attorney who practiced for 18 years, I am familiar with the ins and out’s of this practice, and I must admit that I was highly impressed with Matthew’s knowledge of the operation and management of the current DUI laws in the State of New Jersey. His ability to set out the parameters of defense and to question his client as to a factual basis for this defense was a masterful process to be envied by most practitioners. He systematically tore down the prosecutor’s case and provided alternate facts that substantiated our position and convinced the prosecutor that pursuing a DUI would be futile and counterproductive to providing justice in my matter. He further used his skills to provide the prosecutor with an alternative sentencing structure that inured to my benefit. I would sincerely recommend Matthew to any prospective client in any quasi-criminal or criminal matter without hesitation.

Philip L.

August, 2019

“Matt, our family is grateful for your assistance during a trying time. Your staff served us well with great communication and support and you explained the complexities of our case and the strategies you would use to lessen the impact. You did a fabulous job in court and secured an outcome that was absolutely the best we could hope for. Thank you!”

Russ H.

Client Testimonials

August, 2019

“Let me tell you something about it, Matt. He gets right to the point and gets the job done. Don’t waste any more time looking for another lawyer, this dude’s the man! When I was charged for something that would potentially ruin my career and my financials, Matt made it all go away easily. I would recommend this gentleman to my family and friends. Sorry, Matt, I can’t give you more than 5 stars because this google will only allow 5. Not enough stars. Again, thank you for what you did for me and for my family.”

Gerard D.

August, 2019

“Matt was there for me from day one. He provided emotional support and guidance throughout the whole process. His confidence epitomized great advice and representation. The determination shown to get the best outcome possible was reassuring and put me at ease. The team was thorough and concise with the documentation and answering my questions. It was an honor and a pleasure to have him as my lawyer.”

Julie V.

Client Testimonials

July, 2019

“Mr.Portella listened to my situation, asked thorough questions, and gave me his thoughts. He followed through getting my case dismissed in a timely matter. He communicated with me throughout the process making me feel at ease. I am in the military and a lot was at stake. Thank you, sir!”

Christopher S.

June, 2019

“Matthew Portella saved my career. I would highly recommend him to represent you if you in need of an attorney in the New Jersey area… MVP!!!”

Terrence N.

March, 2019

“Matthew Portella came highly recommended to me and let me just say that his reputation proceeded himself! I would consider him by far the best lawyer in South Jersey. He worked endlessly on my case and fought for me until the end. He ended up getting my cases dismissed when that was considered a long shot considering my charges. I can’t say enough good things about how great of a lawyer he is. I recommend that if you ever need a lawyer to call him, definitely one of the best in the business, and can’t thank him enough for his hard work and dedication.”

Joshua S.

Client Testimonials

September, 2018

“When my company expanded into the New Jersey market, I called upon Matt with some legal issues. He not only achieved a positive outcome, but he was also a pleasure to deal with. He made a potentially nerve-wracking situation manageable. Although I hope to never need legal services again, if I do, I will call upon him.”

Janis B.

September, 2017

“I have known Matt both professionally and personally for 20 years. His service is always outstanding as is his attitude toward his clients. He is one of the best attorneys in NJ and I have never been disappointed working with him. He is always very honest and straightforward in what he feels the outcome of your case will be and will try his best for a favorable one.”

Peter R.

May 27, 2016

“In my opinion, Matt Portella is the best lawyer you could ask for. I would not hesitate to recommend Mr. Portella and his legal services to anyone looking for a high-quality legal firm that also has a very personal touch in making you feel comfortable. He is an excellent attorney who genuinely cares about his clients and their futures, including mine. He is extremely knowledgeable, insightful, and very kind. His demeanor and personality enable others to develop trust and confidence in his advice. From start to finish, he always keeps you updated with the progress of the case and he provides great results and solves issues quickly. I would highly recommend him and his firm. Thank you so much again, Matt!!”

Simran A.

Client Testimonials

May 06, 2016

“At first I really didn’t want to hire an attorney – thought I could deal with arrest on my own. I am so glad I hired Mr. Portella. We were referred to him by a trusted friend. Mr. Portella not only got my case dismissed, but he was also wonderful to work with throughout the process. He explained everything so we could understand it. He is quick, smart, funny, and excellent at his job. I was in good hands from the start. I am so thankful to Mr. Portella. It is because of him that I have a fresh start. Thank you so much. I will refer him whenever I can without hesitation.”

Jake B.

March 09, 2016

“I was facing a DUI charge and was recommended to Mr. Portella…Upon meeting Mr. Portella, I was surprised and impressed by his knowledge of the matter and his determination to explore all options for the sake of his client. I hired him immediately and am so grateful I did. Mr. Portella did his best to execute my case in the best way possible. He was able to capitalize on the mistakes that were made within my case and win me the best possible outcome. If you’re looking for a DUI lawyer, Mr. Portella is without a doubt the number one choice.”

Gina T.

January 12, 2016

“I had a pretty cut and dry case that I was to get jail time and other fines. Each time I talked to Mr. Portella he had found another way to possibly get the case dropped or downgraded. He exhausted every option…He eventually had my case downgraded tremendously for a few things he found wrong. I feel he went above and beyond what I expected. He is a great lawyer and also a very personable person to deal with. His staff answered any question I called about and helped me tremendously also. I would definitely recommend Mr. Portella to anyone seeking a lawyer who is truly on your side and easy to talk with. Thank you, sir, for all your help.”

Tom Y.

Client Testimonials

January 06, 2016

“I was in an accident with fatal involved. Could have had jail time and lots of fines. Mr. Portella eased the situation. Made me feel all should be ok. Gave me a price and never charged anymore. His staff was on top of everything and were very helpful (I’m sure this is also because I didn’t harass them and I spoke to them with respect) and didn’t charge for asking the staff questions. Mr. Portella brought cheer and a sense of calm when we were at meetings and at court…he knew many people that were there. In my case, it was an unintentional accident and I paid a fine and that was all. I feel he protected me and helped me through a horrible time in my life and that he made sure justice was handled correctly. Thank you, Matthew…..P.S. he is a great singer also! check out his Facebook page!”

Eric G.

December 20, 2015

“I am forever in Mr. Portella’s debt. As a suffering drug addict, I was justifiably facing a charge that could have had me incarcerated for many years. Matthew worked tirelessly over the course of several months to not only maintain the integrity of all necessary legal proceedings but also to teach me on the process so that I was informed every step of the way. He also referred me to in-patient treatment, checked in on me while I was there, and has supported my recovery journey with aplomb and encouragement. With his legal expertise and the help of my recovery program, what looked like hopelessness has turned into almost a year clean for me with little legal reproach. I could not have done this without Mr. Portella. Thank you, Matthew. Your services have not only helped me get my freedom and dignity back, but they have enabled me to help other addicts stay clean and evolve into productive, responsible members of society. God bless you.”

Robert P.

November 13, 2015

“I want to thank Mr. Portella for taking my case. What an amazing law office and attorney. He is very professional and got all of my charges dismissed. If I ever need an attorney again, Mr. Portella will be the one I call. Thank you again!”

A.M.

October 23, 2015

“Mr. Portella is a true professional. He handled all aspects of my case with a very favorable outcome. He is accessible and at the same time a consummate professional. Kudos!”

C.T. L.

Client Testimonials

October 13, 2015

“Great lawyer. Great guy. He did everything he promised and was always clear with how he was going to handle my case.”

James M.

September 23, 2015

“I couldn’t have asked for a better attorney, he truly was exceptional. He was a pleasure to work with. This was a very embarrassing time in my life and he made me feel at ease through the entire process, and not once passing judgment. Mr. Portella is extremely smart & professional on every level. He made me feel more like a friend than an everyday client. He answered any and all questions, and if he wasn’t available someone in his office was. I am 100% happy with the judgment I received. I would recommend Matt to anyone. He truly is incredible!!”

Rebecca B.

August 08, 2015

“Matt is amazing. I’d recommend them to anybody, anytime. From the INITIAL meeting through the final judgment I felt safe and cared for. The first moment I was in the court I knew I was in great hands as I saw the respect that Matt got from all the court staff and judge. I was called quickly every time I was there and was always out fast. Which was so important, I missed very little work and zero wasted time. They helped me through a very difficult time in my life. I felt like I was with a friend, not just a lawyer. I never felt judged or looked down upon. I was more than satisfied with their services.”

Chris B.

Client Testimonials

June 12, 2015

“I cannot put into words how amazing Matt is! His firm handled my case with such care and expertise and I had an outcome I never imagined would happen!! Matt was outstanding! If anyone is in need of an attorney…stop your search here…Matt is the BEST!”

Ginny H.

June 10, 2015

“Matt and his staff are terrific! Thorough, fair, compassionate, knowledgeable, helpful. Will go above and beyond to make sure you receive the BEST representation to assure you the best possible outcome. Given whatever circumstances you find yourself dealing with. If I ever find myself in need of an attorney, given his broad knowledge base. I will RUN right to Matt!”

Keith P.

May 14, 2015

“Matt has helped me in the past and is a great person and more importantly, an amazing attorney. Matthew V. Portella recently helped me and did an incredible job. I couldn’t be happier with their services. Would recommend them to anyone in need of a good defense attorney!!”

Ginny H.

Client Testimonials

February 26, 2015

“I could not ask for a better result in my case. Matt and his team did a great job and I would recommend them to anybody. Whenever I had a question, Matt was there to answer it and made things a lot easier on me. Thank you, Matt.”

Steven G.

February 10, 2015

“I, unfortunately, needed to use Matt on several occasions over the past few years. I cannot express what a pleasure it was to work with him. He is incredibly professional, detailed, and always prepared. As a bonus, he is also a pleasure to work with and a good person overall. He was able to obtain very favorable outcomes each time. He truly cares about his clients and I would highly recommend you seek his services if you should ever need an attorney. Matt is your man.”

V J.

June 02, 2014

“Matt thank you for your representing me. You and your associate’s attention to detail and understanding of applicable case law brought about a successful defense. I highly recommend Matthew Portella for anyone needing a detailed oriented organized defense attorney who communicates well with his client.”

GJG G.

April 22, 2014

“If it wasn’t for matt and his brilliance of being a lawyer and the people he has around him, I wouldn’t have the ability to type this because I would be in jail. Enough Said”.

Tom P.

Client Testimonials

April 02, 2014

“If you or friends or relatives need assistance from a first-class attorney, search no further. Matt Portella and the staff are all you would need. Matt himself is a top-notch attorney with class and style. His staff is also first-rate, you never feel out of touch, and always feel important to them. I have recommended Matt and his firm to friends and business associates for a few years now. Thanks again, Matt.”

Fran M.

November 1, 2013

“Matt is a consummate professional. Knowledgeable, courteous, helpful. He knows what he is doing, and lets you know what exactly is going on with your case His office is just as helpful as he is. I cannot say enough good things about Matt and the people he has working for him. I’ve used Matt on more than one occasion and he saved my bacon both times!! Call him when you not only need representation but a good representation.”

P.S., Runnemede, NJ

June 27, 2013

“Matt Portella did a great job for us and was a pleasure to work with. I will recommend him with confidence.”

A.B., Blackwood, NJ

Client Testimonials

June 24, 2013

“Mr. Portella recently helped me through a tough legal situation. He was very personable as well as honest which made me comfortable throughout the whole process. His personal attention to detail and his pride in his work are second to none. My outcome was more than I expected thanks to the services of Mr. Portella and his professional staff. Highly recommended.”

T.O., Gloucester City, NJ

June 05, 2013

“I was recently in need of Mr. Portella’s services. We met in his office where he took the time to get my side of the events. He explained all the potential ramifications of the charges and he laid out a range of possible outcomes. He answered all my questions and was responsive during the entire process. The outcome of my case was better than I was hoping for. Mr. Portella gets my highest recommendation.”

F.G., Haddonfield, NJ

Client Testimonials

February 21, 2013

“Matthew thanks, you are the best! The staff also deserves kudos for their professionalism second to none. My advice, if you need a lawyer call, Mr. Portella.Thanks again”

D.C., Manchester Township, NJ

January 21, 2013

“I recently was in a position where I needed a top-notch attorney. Matt Portella was just that. Matt’s expertise in the area I needed was tremendous. He explained charges & outcomes with patience so that I fully understood what was going on at all times. Matt would personally return calls and/or emails within the same day. He is a friendly, easygoing person; always making you feel comfortable in his presence. I have also found his office staff to be very friendly & accommodating. I would highly recommend Mr. Portella to anyone in need of a good attorney.”

K.P., Sicklerville, NJ

November 15, 2012

“I am so happy that I chose Matt’s services for my legal matter. He was very professional yet still easy to talk to. He got my charges lessened and saved me soo much $$ in fines! I would recommend Matt to anyone who is in need of legal services!”

S.T., Erial, NJ

October 24, 2012

“I don’t think I could have chosen a better lawyer than Matt. I never doubted him for a second threw out my entire case. He is a great guy and knows exactly what he’s doing. I had full confidence in him and knew I was in good hands. I enjoyed working with him and whenever I need him for any other issues I cross, I will go to him. I couldn’t thank him enough for what he’s done for me. :)”

Kristin P.

Client Testimonials

October 02, 2012

“I am going through a very contentious divorce where my spouse had a propensity to contact the police if I sneezed the wrong way. She had recently filed a THIRD temporary restraining order against me and was seeking to make it permanent. The consequences of this could have been devastating to both my ability to seek future employment, but, more importantly, to see my children. My divorce attorney had recommended Matt since this was his area of expertise. I couldn’t have been happier with Matt’s services. (note: I am no fan of lawyers in general and have never written a recommendation for anyone before.) Not only did he argue my case to the judge and get it dismissed, but, he was honest, professional, strategic, thorough, and fair. He gave me a price up-front (which wasn’t the cheapest, but, well worth it) and never asked for another penny. He earned every bit of his fee in my case. He dealt with the facts and never speculated as to the outcome. He did, however, tell me that in 98% of these cases, final restraining orders ARE granted. Well, thanks to Matt, I’m now part of the 2%!”

J.R., Marlton, NJ

September 01, 2012

“I’ve recently used the legal services of Matthew Portella, and once again, he was able to get the charges dismissed. He is very honest and fair with you and he and his office will work hard to get the intended results. He is a nice guy, but more importantly a great lawyer. I would highly recommend using his service for any Municipal or Criminal case. If I get into another jam, I will definitely be requesting his legal advice.”

M.B., Mantua, NJ

June 30, 2012

“Matthew Portella gets RESULTS. Seriously. Way better outcome than I imagined possible. I highly recommend him to anyone in a jam.”

J.C., Pitman, NJ

April 05, 2012

“I was very pleased with Matthew Portella. He got back to me right away and returned all of my phone calls. He’s efficient, nice, and very helpful. He met with me before the court date to go over what was going to happen. I felt like he really cared about the case. I would definitely recommend him to anyone in need of a great criminal defense lawyer. And I would use him again….but hopefully, I won’t have to.”

J.W., Deptford, NJ

Client Testimonials

January 20, 2012

“When life gives you lemons, call Matthew Portella. I have had the good fortune to have Mr. Portella represent me in a few unfortunate circumstances, and each time he delivered an outcome that positively exceeded my expectations. Mr. Portella is a rare combination of legal acumen, procedural competence, and human compassion. When you’ve gone wrong, you can never go wrong in having Matthew Portella represent you.”

C.L., Barrington, NJ

November 07, 2011

“Unfortunately I have had to deal with more lawyers than I care to admit which is the bad news, the good news is that when I found myself in the most serious of trouble Matt Portella was recommended to me by a friend who happens to be an NJ State Trooper. He relayed to me that whenever he came up against Mr. Portella he was by far the most prepared attorney he came up against and after a brief meeting I decided to retain him. Justice in the state of NJ is not quick and Mr. Portella kept me calm and more importantly upon resolution of the case kept all sentences to a bare minimum. We all hate paying for lawyers, but you get what you pay for and in this case, I felt I paid for the best.”

E.C., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Client Testimonials

April 21, 2011

“Matt is one of the BEST attorneys in the legal profession. As I witnessed firsthand, Matt Portella exhibits expertise in his work. He is meticulous and devotes time and energy to examining every aspect of his cases in order to offer the best solution. Matt is directly responsible for the ease and thoroughness that permeated my case. Matt won my case with an amazing motion to dismiss. As well, he is very personable, and accessible to his clients. I didn’t need to worry about Matt having an agenda, other than my best interest. Thank you for your great services!”

M.E., Somers Point, NJ

December 29, 2010

“Great criminal defense attorney! Matt will get you the best possible outcome of any criminal charge in all of New Jersey.”

Bob B., Haddonfield, NJ

December 08, 2010

“Matt is an excellent attorney. He has a solid reputation in the South Jersey legal community and is very personable. Also, I hear he is quite the musician!”

James N.

August 29, 2010

“He was very courteous and asked a lot of pertinent questions.”

Client

Call today for a free consultation: (856) 245-5904.

GET HELP NOW
X

Search Our Site: