Will a Conviction FOR DUI/DWI Affect My Chances of Becoming an Uber Driver?
If you are an Uber or other rideshare driver and you have been charged with a DUI/DWI, you should seek advice from a New Jersey DWI/DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible because you could lose your right to drive for the rideshare service. Similarly, if you have a DWI on your record in New Jersey and you want to have the opportunity to work as an Uber or rideshare driver, it will be important to learn about your options from a DWI attorney in New Jersey. You may know that New Jersey recently changed its DUI/DWI laws, and it is important to understand whether the change in the state’s DWI law could affect your ability to drive for Uber.
Uber’s Employment Policies Concerning a DWI On or Off the Job
In order to become an Uber driver, you will need to pass a background check which will include your driving history and criminal record. You must also be at least 21 years old, although you may need to be at least 23 years old depending upon the specific place where you are applying to drive for the rideshare company. You also must have a valid driver’s license, proof of auto insurance, and the registration on your vehicle must be up to date. Your car must also be at least a four-door vehicle, and it needs to be newer than 10 years old. If you want to drive for Uber Black, the background check will have additional requirements.
In addition to these requirements, you cannot have a DUI or DWI on your record within the last seven years. Although a DWI/DUI is a traffic offense in New Jersey, it will show up on the driving history check. This applies whether you are convicted of a first-time DUI or a subsequent DUI offense. You cannot have a DUI/DWI on your record within the past seven years whether you get a DWI on or off the job for Uber. This also applies to current Uber drivers, meaning that if a current driver is convicted of a DWI/DUI on or off the job they will lose their ability to drive for the company.
For anyone who wants to drive for Uber, a felony DUI/DWI is handled differently. Although in New Jersey DWI’DUIs are traffic offenses and not felonies, a DWI charge in New Jersey can be akin to a felony DUI in other states when it accompanies charges such as vehicular homicide or vehicular assault. For felony DUI/DWI charges, you may be prohibited from driving for Uber regardless of the length of time from the conviction to your application to be an Uber driver. Accordingly, if you want to drive for Uber and are facing DUI/DWI charges, you need to develop a strong defense strategy with a New Jersey DWI attorney.
Will the Changes to the New Jersey DWI/DUI Law Penalties Affect My Situation?
New Jersey’s recent change to DUI/DWI law took effect on December 1, 2019. That law eliminates driver’s license suspensions for DWI first-time offenders who have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of less the 0.15 percent until that person has an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. None of these changes to the law, however, would make it easier to drive for Uber if you have a DWI conviction. Also, New Jersey does not allow for the expungement of a DWI/DUI which means that the conviction will be on a person’s driving record permanently.
Contact a New Jersey DWI Lawyer
If you are facing DWI charges, our New Jersey DWI attorney, Matthew V. Portella. Contact the Law Office of Matthew V. Portella, LLC for more information.