Gloucester NJ Burglary Attorney

Defending Clients Facing Burglary Charges in Gloucester & Deptford, NJ

In New Jersey, burglary charges typically involve automobile, business, or home break-ins. A burglary charge is a serious criminal offense. If you are convicted, you may face jail time or be required to pay a large fine. You will also get a criminal record which can affect your life significantly. If you are charged with burglary, you must seek help from a Gloucester burglary attorney.  

Burglary charges are usually related to criminal offenses. A person commits a burglary when he intends to commit a criminal offense while he surreptitiously enters, remains in, or trespasses upon certain private property. 

If you work with an experienced burglary lawyer, they will investigate the nature of your arrest. They will help you gather the necessary evidence to provide a solid defense. It is best to seek the help of an attorney as soon as possible. 

What is Burglary?

In New Jersey, burglary is defined as entry into a building illegally with intent to commit a crime, especially theft. You can only be convicted of burglary if the prosecutor proves illegal entry into a structure and intent to commit a felony or criminal charge. The burden of proof lies entirely on the prosecutor. 

Degrees of Burglary OffensesGloucester/Deptford car burglary

In New Jersey, burglary is indictable. There are four degrees of burglary offenses. The majority of crimes committed are graded as third-degree offenses. You may pay a fine of up to $15,000 and spend up to five years in prison. Your burglary may be a second-degree offense if it involved the use of deadly weapons or if anyone was injured. If you are convicted with second-degree burglary, you may face up to 10 years in prison. 

In some cases, the judge and prosecutor may decide that you only need probation for the crime. They can suspend your sentence. They may reduce your charge if you don’t have a criminal history. 

Examples of Burglary

There are three ways to commit a burglary; unlawfully entering someone’s property, trespassing on property that belongs to a utility company, and unlawfully remaining in a property that doesn’t belong to you. Your case may only be considered burglary if you lack permission from the property owner and if you intended to commit a separate offense during the unlawful entry. 

No Lighter Sentences for First-Time Offenders

In New Jersey, being a first-time offender does not necessarily mean that you will receive a lighter sentence. The law does not provide any automatic upgrades for multiple offenses. However, your criminal history is likely to affect the way a judge sentences you. 

Consider working with the Law Office of Matthew V. Portella, LLC if you need a Gloucester or Deptford, NJ, burglary attorney. We have been fighting for the rights of criminal defendants since 1995. Our approach is personalized and we will do our best to help you get the minimal consequences for your prosecution.

Contact Us Today To Find Out The Best Defenses That Are Available For Your Case. Click Here to Schedule a Consultation.

Search Our Site: