Two of the most common traffic violations in New Jersey involve N.J.S.A. 39:4:98 and N.J.S.A. 39:4-99, which include a variety of speeding offenses ranging from traveling14 miles per hour to 30 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit.
If you are caught traveling in excess of the posted speed limit, you could face fines, points on your driving record, and other penalties. Courts view speeding as a serious offense, and therefore ensure that the act comes with serious consequences.
Don’t take on this fight alone. Contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney with the Law Office of Matthew V. Portella, LLC to learn more about your options and defenses.
In 2018, speeding was a factor in thousands of fatal car accidents across the United States. It accounted for the deaths of 9,378 people according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, making up 26% of total traffic fatalities that year.
In fact, 30% of men and 18% of women between the ages of 15-20 years old involved in a fatal accident in 2018 were speeding.
Reasons People Speed
Speeding is common driving behavior. There are a number of reasons people speed, including:
- Traffic: Congested traffic can be frustrating. For this reason, drivers involved in congested traffic employ a number of aggressive driving techniques, including erratically changing lanes or speeding, in order to make up for any progress that may have been impeded by the traffic.
- Running Late: Some people speed because they are running late for things such as work, school, a sporting event, or an appointment, and believe exceeding the posted speed limit will get them to their destination in a more timely manner.
Posted and Non-posted Speed Limits
Drivers are required to abide by posted rates of speed. In New Jersey, drivers must be aware of a number of set speed limits that may not be posted, including:
- School zones — especially during recess, when children are clearly present, and during opening and closing hours when children are traveling to and from school — where the speed limit is 25 miles per hour.
- Business and residential districts where the speed limit is 25 miles per hour.
- Suburban business and residential districts where the speed limit is 35 miles per hour.
All other locations fall under the speed limit of 50 miles per hour, unless otherwise posted or otherwise provided under the “Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act.” New Jersey statutes also require drivers to reduce their speeds when approaching an intersection, railway crossings, curves, hillcrests, any narrow or winding roadways, and when special hazards are present, including pedestrians, other traffic, weather, and highway conditions.
Consequences for Speeding
New Jersey courts treat speeding as a serious offense. Speed limit violations with convictions carry points. The number of points depends on the amount of speed the driver was traveling above the speed limit. These points are recorded on your driving record and can increase your automobile insurance rates. In New Jersey, point classifications for speeding include:
- 2 points for exceeding the maximum speed by 1-14 miles per hour
- 4 points for exceeding the maximum speed by 15-29 miles per hour
- 5 points for exceeding the maximum speed by 30 or more miles per hour
You can be given a $150 surcharge for accumulating six points over 3 years. Each additional point will cost you a $25 surcharge. Your license may also be suspended if you receive 12 or more points.
In addition to points on your driving record, you are subject to a fine. New Jersey speeding ticket fines are determined by speed and include:
- $85 for exceeding the maximum speed by 1-9 miles per hour
- $95 for exceeding the maximum speed by 10-14 miles per hour
- $105 for exceeding the maximum speed by 15-19 miles per hour
- $200 for exceeding the maximum speed by 20-24 miles per hour
- $220 for exceeding the maximum speed by 25-29 miles per hour
- $240 for exceeding the maximum speed by 30-24 miles per hour
- $260 for exceeding the maximum speed by 35-39 miles per hour
Fines are doubled for drivers who are found going 10 miles per hour or more over a speed limit that is 65 miles per hour or more. Drivers can contest a ticket by appearing in court and paying a $33 court cost over and above the fines. Failing to pay the fine or appear in court to contest the ticket could lead to your license being suspended or a warrant being issued for your arrest.
Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney
If you were issued a speeding ticket, contact the experienced criminal defense attorney at the Law Office of Matthew V. Portella, LLC. Our qualified lawyer has over 25 years of experience successfully representing New Jersey drivers. Call (856) 245-5913 to schedule a free consultation today.